New Year

I survived 2012. 

This thought rushes through my brain, and it’s significance is not lost on me. This time last year, everyone was sure that this would be the last year. Like, ever. December 21, 2012 was meant to be the day of reckoning, Judgement Day, the day all the toilet paper in all the world simultaneously disappeared thereby rendering our entire civilisation helpless.

And yet, here we stand. On the cusp of another year. The beginning of another revolution. No one seems surprised. As we got closer and closer to the actual date, it seemed people started to believe less in doomsday prophecies and repentance and all these morbid apocalyptic thoughts. Instead, more people started to believe in the most likely explanation for the Mayans’ lack of dates past… well, a little more than a week ago. That explanation is, of course. A lack of logistics. Hey man, how many perfectly circular stones do you want them to find/make before you’re satisfied? Maybe they just got tired. Maybe binding stones together is not as easy as you think, to make little rock calendars.

A lot of the above is just conjecture, having done no research on the size/shape of the original Mayan calendar. In being that lazy, I have cemented my reputation as being exceedingly… well, lazy. Duh.

Something else that runs through my head is the fate of the poor girl. That poor girl. Now, I’m not the first to post about her, nor will I be the last. I’d like to apologise to women everywhere. As a man, to see what was done to her. It sickens me. It hurts. It stings. It makes me want to scream and shout and rant and rage and throw things and punch walls and scream bloody murder until those animals are brought to justice. But I won’t. Instead, I’ll try to accept that there are such animals in our society. And that there is not much we can do once the act has been committed. Rather, we try to educate our young. Try to teach them to distinguish right and wrong. Teach them respect for all living things, for each other. We prevent this from happening in the future, and pray we have the moral courage to not stand by should we see such an act being carried out in front of us. Pray that the words of Edmund Burke never have to refer to us.

“The only thing necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing.”

I had another post that I wanted to put up, about kindness and courtesy, but I decided to delay that. I wanted to talk about this, because it’s hurt us. As a while, it’s hurt us in our hearts. A collective human consciousness, someone called it. And as a collective, we’ve been jarred. For how long, I don’t know. Whether this will have any impact, I also don’t know. But what I do know is that there’s a lot of anger and frustration going around. And the way it’s being directed, I’m not sure if that’s the best idea. Demanding blood for blood. Part of me agrees, roars triumphantly at the thought of hangings all around. But another part of me questions the necessity. If by doing so, we’re not just bending to their level. If by doing so, we’re not satisfying some primal urge of our own to see bloodshed. So what’s the alternative? What punishment would suffice?

I don’t know.

All I know is that more than anger and fear. I feel sadness. I feel for the parents who lost their child. For the friends who lost a loved one. I feel sad for the men who feel that women are their right. For the man who thinks subservient women are the only type of women allowed in our society. For the man who sees himself superior.

My sister wrote an article on the treatment of women. I thought it was brilliant. Maybe if I can get her permission, I’ll put it up here. If I can, please take a moment to read and reflect.

The next post, in the meanwhile, will be about something a little more lighthearted. And it’s coming in about another hour or so. Till then, t-era.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

