This is My Fight Song.

A post like this is not one that is made lightly. It’s not one to be publicised, or advertised, in any way. So I didn’t.

It’s not easy for a person to stand up and say that he or she is not alright. That he or she is struggling. And the truth is, I am. I’m struggling mentally and emotionally. Physically I’m pretty okay for now (other than a bit of persistent flab around the midsection), but otherwise it hasn’t been easy.

I am fully aware that there are people who have it far worse than me, who are in indescribable situations and are afflicted with horrific diseases or whatnot, and I’m not saying that my problems are in any way worse than theirs.

At the same time, that does not make my issues magically go away, knowing that there are people who are worse off than me. It does not magically feel like the way I’m feeling is nothing to be sad about, or worried about, because my issues are in my head.

It does not make me better, knowing that there are worse hands that life has dealt to others.

What exactly these issues are, are not important right now. Just know that if you see me down, or quiet, or staring at nowhere in particular, that I’m not ok, but I will be. Maybe a quick “it’ll get better” or “hang in there,” I’d appreciate that. I need nothing more.

Because

This is my fight song
Prove I’m alright song
Take back my life song
My powers turned on
Starting right now I’ll be strong
I’ll play my fight son
And I don’t really care
If nobody else believes
Cause I’ve still got
A lot of fight left in me

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.