We Stand Resolute.

This be part 2 of the Resolutions series, helmed by none other than yours truly. From here on out, maybe once a week on Sundays, I’m going to chronicle my triumphs and failures as I embark on this journey. So here’s entry 1: Expansion.

I basically want to expand on my previous entry in terms of the first resolution that I mentioned. I said I want to be more disciplined, and broke it down into 3 sub-goals: Dance, Health, and Personal. So here’s the elaboration, for all 0 of you who asked.


 

1.Health

I have a penchant for unhealthy food. I used to just eat whatever I wanted, on account of the fact that my metabolism was insane. Well, that’s no longer true.

I’ve started putting on weight, something I never thought I’d have to worry about. My stomach is now flabbier, and it’s legitimately gotten harder to fit into some clothes. I could chalk it up to my relatively more sedentary lifestyle ever since graduation, but it’s time also to accept the fact that my metabolism is definitely slowing down. And also that I’m at an age where I need to start considering what goes into my body.

To that end, I’m cutting down on the number of times I eat fast food. I’m going to be going to food courts and ordering healthier foods, and buying healthy snacks rather than the junk I always did. Less soft drinks, too. My addiction to Mountain Dew is well known to most, as is my love for sugary drinks. Well, that love is one I need to let go off.

All these changes aren’t going to be easy to make overnight, but I think it ultimately comes down to discipline. Preparing my mind and my body for a different kind of lifestyle, one that involves me being happier with my body.

This then leads me to the other part of health-related discipline. I’m going to start working out. Not like insane workouts, but just something to lose my love handles before they become serious, and at the same time try to get more upper body strength. I’ve got a routine already, it’s just a matter of keeping to it. So yeah. Here’s to a better looking, healthier me.

2.Dance

I’m going to devote more time to making myself a better dancer. I want to take time to explore my own body and how I move. I’m going to put more time into conditioning, stretching, and basics. There is a specific workout that I’ve developed for myself, to accomplish this, but due to potential time restraints, I don’t think the results will be obvious anytime soon. But I’m ok with that. I’m learning to be patient again, to enjoy the journey.

I also want to choreograph more, watch more, and feel more. I want to think less. All of this, unfortunately, means I may not be able to go for classes as often as I’d like to in the short run, but I feel that it will be worth it in the long run.

I do have songs I’ve been choreographing to, just that I haven’t been able to video them down. I’m working out ways to get videos out, so hopefully that happens as well. But this is, in summary, what I have planned for myself for the year ahead as a dancer. I have other goals, of course, but those aren’t resolution-related, so that’s for another time.

3.Personal

This is the biggest challenge for me, more so than my health and dance related issues, primarily because I feel that this is the most fundamental level of discipline I struggle with and simultaneously, the easiest. If I could just make myself more disciplined on a personal level, I think it would be SO much easier to achieve my other goals.

Also, I’m not very organised, in that I’m constantly forgetting things. Be it names, faces or events, anything really, I’ve forgotten SO many things over the years. Then, a few weeks ago, I read something along the lines of how if your personal space is organised, then your mind will slowly follow suit.

Well, it’s worth a shot. So I’m going to keep my personal life organised, from my space (my room) to my life (events and stuff). I think this will be the most challenging thing I’ve ever done simply because it’s so easy to relapse and become lazy and not bother about picking up the clothes that are on my bed and whatnot, but I’ve got to try. I always procrastinate, saying it’ll take me like 10 seconds, but then it builds up and before you know it 10 seconds becomes 2 hours of cleanup. With a shovel.


Well, there you have it, elaboration on my goals for the year. There has been a lot of thought put into this post, and there are other things I’d like to accomplish as well, but for now I either don’t have enough information to plan for those goals or they require other things to happen first, so I’m doing what I can for the things in my control. Everything else, can wait.

This is not going to be an easy year. But if I can stay on track, stay focused, then it’s going to be one hell of a rewarding one. So let’s go.

 

This entry was posted in Reflections, Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

